Out of the Box~~ Goodbye Galiano John’s Departure from Dior


When I first heard the news about John’s suspension from the House of Dior I was flabbergasted.  I was talking to my business partner and saw the breaking news on our local news channel and immediately started freaking out!  She was like “what is going on?” I told her and she wasn’t surprised but I was close to distraught!  If you read my blog then you know already that the House of Dior is my fav fashion house and Galiano is my fav designer, so naturally I had to know what was going on in the world when my fav designer who never let’s me down season after season is suspended.  WTH?  What did he do? 

Well…..then I found out what he did, and saw the video.  I’m not one to give voice to or advocate anything that is hateful so I have not posted the video.  If you haven’t heard what happened John was caught well into his drink in a Parisian cafe having words with a couple who sat at a table near him.  He went into a anti-Semitic rant against the couple while surreptitiously being taped by another person who was at the restaurant.  When Dior was first made aware of the situation they (having a zero tolerance policy)   had to suspend the designer.  Now this all takes place before the Oscars and before the red carpet arrivals.  If your into fashion you know why the Red carpet is so important for designers, now fast forward to Natalie Portman in all her pretty pregnancy glory stepping out onto the red carpet as the new face of Dior Miss Cherie in….Rodarte…I’m sorry I’m confused by this.  Yes I know Rodarte assisted on the costume design for Black Swan the movie that Natalie was nominated for but nonetheless I’m thinking most people were expecting her to be in Dior.  Add to that the statement she released the next day stating that she wanted nothing to do with John Galiano.  Well the day after he was in fact fired.  If your confused by Natalie’s statements well she is proudly Jewish and John’s statements weren’t exactly nice. 

I am always unhappy when someone with immense talent makes career limiting/ending moves such as this one was.  I always think of what could have been, and now I’m thinking of what is going to happen to Dior?  Who will they have to step in and replace John without compromising the brilliance that is Dior.  Needless to say the next season is going to be one that the world is watching for.

So in an ode to what was I am posting for you the last Haute Couture collection by John Galliano for the house of Christian Dior.

Photos courtesy Imaxtree.com and Mateo Volta via Elle.com

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

