What’s Alexxuss doing?~~P&G Beauty Awards 2010


On November 11, 2010 I will be covering the P&G Beauty Awards, I’m super excited about this.  So yeah, what the heck are they?  Up until recently I didn’t know they existed either, since Fashion week I’ve been looking for other fashion events to cover, (building up the resume you know…) and in my travels I’ve discovered quite a few, sadly most of them had already passed.  Who starts a blog in the middle of the Fashion calendar anyway? Because I did start my blog in the middle of the calendar I did miss out on quite a few awesome events that happen in Toronto but not this one. 

The Awards

The P&G Beauty and Grooming Awards  were first held in 2009 and are in their second year.   The awards were created by P&G Beauty and Grooming to recognize the contribution to fashion editorial content by Canadian editors, photographers, models, makeup artists, and  hairstylists. 

The Awards have 13 categories, and when the announcement was made that the awards were accepting nominations,  they received 220 submissions.  The Categories are:

  1. Best Magazine Cover
  2. Best Beauty Editor of a Magazine
  3. Best Beauty Feature of a Magazine or Newspaper
  4. Best Fashion Editor of a Magazine
  5. Best Fashion Feature of a Magazine or Newspaper
  6. Best Fashion or Beauty Blog
  7. Best Male Fashion Feature
  8. Best Male Grooming Feature
  9. Best Fashion or Beauty Website
  10. Best New Face
  11. Photographer of the Year
  12. Hair Stylist of the Year
  13. Make-up Artist of the Year

What I love about these awards is the fact that they recognize  the same people I’m always talking about!  They fit the focus of my blog to a T. 

Well this year the awards have called in Hollywood royalty to host the event.  None other than The Grammy Award® and Golden Globe Award® winning singer, actress and COVERGIRL spokesmodel Queen Latifah.  The Queen will be holding court for us lucky enough to be her subjects for the night.  All Hail the Queen!

My goal in covering the event that night is to talk to a few of the winners if not all of them.  Get some photos of the event and of course have fun!

I will update yall on what went down and who the winners were the next day…pinky swear!

 

The Venue

The awards ceremony will be taking place at one of Toronto’s most historic venues, (clearly I’m all about the production so naturally I would mention the venue) Just saying…The Carlu.  The Carlu has been one of the venues in the city that I have really wanted to see for myself, and well unless you’re at society events all the time (much unlike myself) then you don’t have these opportunities everyday, and I can’t wait to see if the pictures do it justice.  Check it out http://www.thecarlu.com

To learn more about the P&G Beauty Awards visit their site http://www.pgbeautyandgroomingawards.ca/

Now is when the real drama begins, I have no idea what to wear! Insert crying icon here!

Until next time… oh one more thing for up to the minute behind the scenes details follow me on twitter @backstagelife

Leave a Reply

