Backstage Lights–Make-up Artist Asha Emmanuel


    

So if you haven’t figured it out by now there is always a story behind how I met each person that I interview, and well clearly I’m not going to break with tradition.         

 I was first became aware of Asha when I started my facebook group for my creative direction company; she posted a greeting on the groups wall introducing herself and letting me know that she was a Make Up artist for hire.  Helps considering that I am always looking for people in the industry to work with and also because that is the purpose of the group.    

So some time passed and I had a couple of projects come up and I needed a MUA and I reached out to Asha, timing was all off so we never got the opportunity to work together, but then I started the blog and I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to meet her, and find out some more about her aesthetic.          

 I’m sure you’ll find this interview interesting and fun, Asha is the first Make-Up artist that I’ve interviewed so everything I’ve asked in the past is now coming from a slightly more artistic perspective, which I love.  Read on and get to know Asha Emmanuel.        

Asha Emmanuel

 The first question always is the same.       

How did you become a Make-Up artist?       

 Asha: When I think about it I was always into make-up.  I’ve always wanted to know how to do it properly.  When I was living in New York I was riding the subway and I spotted an ad for Kevyn Aucoin book Face Forward  I saw the picture on the front of the book and I said to myself is that what make-up can do?  I just wanted to know more.  Also in high-school I was always into art, this is just art in a different way. P.s. I ended up getting all of Kevyn’s books.       

Favourite fashion saying?    

Asha: Don’t over do it.  Keep it simple and don’t over think it.      

 Favourite Make-up Artist?       

 Asha: Kevyn Aucoin.  Also there is a make-up artist that is not that well-known but she does her thing.  She’s based in Toronto and her name is Elle St. Aubyn she’s really talented and knows her stuff.       

 Spring/Summer or Fall/Winter?       

 Asha: Spring/Summer I like bright colours and your free to experiment more.  I even feel that the work I do gets more exciting in the spring and summer.  In Fall and Winter your more restricted with colour.       

 Favourite tool in your kit?       

 Asha: My big fat powder brush (MAC 134) and my little bottle of blistex.  I use it to prep the lips and it just makes things so easy.        

Kay pee right after finishing her set up

Intermission:  So when I went to meet Asha and see her work in live  and living colour she was working her magic on the set of Don Von Jovi’s music video for “Bring the 80’s back”. Check the Gallery below for some still shots of her and her handi-work on set that day.       

 disclaimer: I discovered after I arrived on set that I forgot my camera.  So I improvised and used my camera phone.  The camera is not the greatest but you get the picture!       

Now back to our regularly scheduled programming.   

 

Why is Make-up relevant or important to the Fashion industry or just as a whole?      

 Asha: It finishes the look.  Everything can’t be smooth and the face be rough.  Allot of the time people look directly at a person’s face before they even notice what the person is wearing.  Make-up is transformation.       

 How would you define your own personal style?      

 Asha: NY Manhattan, clean, sophisticated and classic.  I wear simple clothing and I add focal point pieces. I keep my make-up as natural as possible  and I like to keep it fresh.      

 Who is your make-up style icon/person’s make-up that you absolutely love?      

 Asha: Nicki Minaj is killing me right now.  I don’t know who her make-up artist is but they are doing an amazing job.  As well as Beyonce, the video where she’s a 50’s house wife kinda pin-up style make-up I love it.  Along with Keyshia Cole.      

 What product do you have in your kit that you’ve always used and are never getting rid of?      

 Asha: My MAC NW45.  I’ve been using it for years I’m NW45 in the winter and NW43 in the summer.  It’s a staple in my kit.      

 Name a look that you wish they would bring back?      

 Asha: Old-school 50’s pin-up look.  With the bright Red lipstick contoured cheek and thin black liner on the eyes.  It’s so me, very girly and pretty but simple.      

 So tell me about some of your experience as a Make-up artist, who have been some of your favourite clients to work with?      

 Asha: I did the Beenie Man video, “Gimme Gimme” the set was just such a cool family vibe.  Allot of what you see in the public with these artists is not actually how they are.   Sean Pauls’ video “Hold my hand” was fun. I’ve worked on the Scotiabank Caribana magazine shoots which I loved because I got to let my creative side out.  My very first music video was an artist named two fingers from the UK that was the first time that I had worked with director Lil X and that experience gave me the confidence I needed to know that I could do this.      

That was my interview with Asha you can  see her work featured on the cover of this years Scotiabank Caribana magazine.  I also had the pleasure of running into her at Drake’s MMVA after party, she was there partying with Katy Perry, you know this girl’s star is rising!  

 Asha can be reached on facebook under Asha Emannuel and by email creativelashes@gmail.com

 (Photos courtesy of Asha Emmanuel.)

One thought on “Backstage Lights–Make-up Artist Asha Emmanuel

  1. Alexxuss….. your posts are both informative and very resourceful. I have always enjoyed the industry yet never thought to take a good look at the other important ppl who makes things happen. Im looking forward to future posts and seeing the world of fashion thru your eyes. Incredible work!
    Cheers,
    Nine

Leave a Reply

